H.R. No. 120

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Texas Juvenile Justice Professional Day is taking 2 place on January 24, 2017, and this occasion offers an ideal

3 opportunity to recognize the outstanding contributions of the

4 dedicated individuals working in this field; and

9

and

WHEREAS, The Texas juvenile justice system is regarded as one of the most innovative in the country and is composed of 166 community-based probation departments that serve the state's 254 counties in partnership with the Texas Juvenile Justice Department;

WHEREAS, More than 8,200 certified juvenile probation and supervision officers work tirelessly and courageously to help rehabilitate young people, handling 100 percent of the referrals received by the juvenile justice system each year and providing ongoing services at the local level to 95 percent of those referrals; and

WHEREAS, When dealing with young offenders, the Texas legal 16 system depends on the efforts of juvenile court judges, juvenile 17 prosecutors, juvenile defense attorneys and advocates, and law 18 enforcement officers and their staff to break the cycle of youth 19 crime and violence and protect the public from delinquent conduct; 20 21 to ensure the consistency and quality of such services throughout the state, Texas Juvenile Justice Department staff members also 22 23 offer assistance and training to all juvenile justice personnel, in addition to providing rehabilitation services directly to young 24

H.R. No. 120

- 1 offenders committed to the department's facilities; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Through their hard work and expertise, juvenile
- 3 justice professionals make a positive difference in the lives of
- 4 at-risk youth and help maintain the security of the citizens of
- 5 Texas, and their contributions are indeed deserving of recognition;
- 6 now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby recognize January 24, 2017, as Texas Juvenile
- 9 Justice Professional Day and commend youth probation personnel,
- 10 members of the Texas Juvenile Justice Department, and all those
- 11 involved in the juvenile justice field for the essential services
- 12 they provide.

White Frullo

H.R. No. 120

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Flynn	Muñoz, Jr.	Wilson
Gervin-Hawkins Giddings	Nevárez Oliveira	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. NO. 120
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 120 was	adopted by the House on January
24, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House