H.R. No. 121

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The men, women, and children of the Echota Cherokee
- 2 of Texas carry forward the traditions of a proud culture with a
- 3 storied history in our state; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The community's members are descended from
- 5 survivors of the "Trail of Tears," the forced migration that took
- 6 place when Native Americans east of the Mississippi River were
- 7 relocated to the Indian Territory in the West in the late 1830s; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Thousands of Cherokee died along the Trail of Tears,
- 9 but some escaped and fled to the mountains of Alabama and other
- 10 remote areas; there, they ultimately became known as the Echota
- 11 Cherokee Indian Tribe, and other Echota Cherokee groups were
- 12 established in various parts of the United States, including Texas;
- 13 and
- WHEREAS, There are presently around 60 Echota Cherokee living
- 15 in our state; their numbers include many individuals who have
- 16 distinguished themselves through their service in the U.S.
- 17 military, as well as others whose business and professional
- 18 endeavors have earned them the high esteem of their fellow Texans;
- 19 and
- WHEREAS, Heirs to a rich legacy, the members of the Echota
- 21 Cherokee of Texas are strengthened by the close ties of kinship and
- 22 heritage that have been passed down from their forebears, and it is
- 23 indeed fitting to pay tribute to their contributions to the Lone
- 24 Star State; now, therefore, be it

H.R. No. 121

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor the Echota Cherokee of Texas and extend to
- 3 its members sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the tribe as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 6 House of Representatives.

Alonzo

H.R. No. 121

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 121
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 121 w 2017, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on March 9,
	Chief Clerk of the House