H.R. No. 130

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Bee County are gathering at the 2 State Capitol to celebrate Bee County Day on February 14, 2017; and 3 WHEREAS, Artifacts indicate that the region was originally inhabited 6,000 to 10,000 years ago; the first permanent European 4 5 settlers arrived in the early 19th century, and 11 area landowners were among the signers of the Texas Declaration of Independence; 6 7 and WHEREAS, Bee County was officially organized on January 25, 8 9 1858, and named for Barnard E. Bee Sr., a South Carolina attorney, soldier, and statesman who joined the Army of the Republic of Texas 10 11 and later served as secretary of war under Sam Houston; and 12 WHEREAS, Located in the South Texas Plains vegetation region, the county covers 866 square miles that slope gently toward the Gulf 13 14 Coast; with the region's open expanses of grasslands, its economy is dominated by farming and ranching along with oil and gas 15 16 operations and agribusiness; Beeville is the county seat, and other towns in the county include Skidmore, Blue Berry Hill, Pettus, 17 Tuleta, Tynan, Pawnee, Normanna, and Mineral; and 18 WHEREAS, Bee County is blessed with an array of cultural and 19 historical attractions for residents and visitors to explore; 20 21 Beeville has successfully revitalized its downtown district and has been named a Texas Main Street City by the Texas Historical 22 Commission; Coastal Bend College--Beeville offers occupational as 23

well as academic classes for its students, and it has the oldest

24

H.R. No. 130

- 1 academic educational glassblowing facility in the state; art
- 2 enthusiasts may delight in the exhibits of the Beeville Art Museum,
- 3 which is funded by the Joe Barnhart Foundation and housed in the
- 4 historic Esther Barnhart House; in addition, visitors come from all
- 5 across Texas to celebrate the state's rich traditions at Western
- 6 Week, one of the county's largest and longest-running festivals;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, The citizens of Bee County may indeed take great
- 9 pride in their vibrant heritage as they work together to build an
- 10 even brighter future, and this special day provides a welcome
- 11 opportunity to pay tribute to the county and its people; now,
- 12 therefore, be it
- RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 14 Legislature hereby recognize February 14, 2017, as Bee County Day
- 15 at the State Capitol and extend to those visiting today sincere best
- 16 wishes for an enjoyable stay in Austin.

Lozano

H.R. No. 130

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 130
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 130 was	adopted by the House on February
14, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House