H.R. No. 133

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Kleberg County are gathering in
Austin on January 31, 2017, to celebrate Kleberg County Day at the
State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Situated both on the broad grasslands of the Gulf 4 5 Coast and on Padre Island, the area that was to become Kleberg County was first inhabited by the Karankawa and Coahuiltecan 6 peoples; Spanish settlements were established along the lower Rio 7 Grande in the 18th century, and after a period of Mexican rule, the 8 9 land became part of Nueces County when Texas secured its independence; in 1853, Richard King established the vast King 10 11 Ranch, a large tract of which was used to form the city of Kingsville in 1904; the new community grew quickly as a railway hub 12 for farmers and ranchers, and in 1913, the Texas Legislature 13 14 organized Kleberg County, naming it for Robert Justus Kleberg, whose son was the manager of King Ranch, and designating Kingsville 15 16 as the county seat; and

WHEREAS, Today, Kleberg County is a place of diversified 17 18 industries; successful businesses include Proco, Inc., and Texas Cementing Services, and largely because of the presence of numerous 19 20 energy companies, the area's economy has continued to grow, 21 resulting in new jobs and an improved quality of life for residents; occupying 825,000 acres, the legendary King Ranch is still vital to 22 23 the prosperity of the county, and the enterprise has earned fame for 24 the region through its development of the Santa Gertrudis breed of

1

1 cattle, its contributions to quarter horse and thoroughbred 2 breeding, and its accomplishments in a variety of other 3 agribusiness interests; and

4 WHEREAS, The largest city in Kleberg County, Kingsville is 5 home to Texas A&M University--Kingsville, which includes the Frank H. Dotterweich College of Engineering, the Dick and Mary Lewis 6 Kleberg College of Agriculture, the Caesar Kleberg Wildlife 7 8 Research Institute, and the Irma Lerma Rangel College of Pharmacy; moreover, Naval Air Station Kingsville is the leading undergraduate 9 10 pilot training facility in the United States, preparing U.S. Navy and Marine Corps pilots for their key role in the nation's defense; 11 12 and

13 WHEREAS, The hardworking and forward-looking citizens of 14 Kleberg County are building on a long tradition of excellence, and 15 their history and achievements are indeed deserving of special 16 recognition; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 18 Legislature hereby recognize January 31, 2017, as Kleberg County 19 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation 20 sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Lozano

H.R. No. 133

2

H.R. No. 133

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 133

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 133 was adopted by the House on January 31, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House