H.R. No. 143

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Washington's Birthday Celebration Association,
- 2 in conjunction with its affiliated organizations, is presenting
- 3 Laredo's 120th commemoration of George Washington's birthday from
- 4 January 19 through February 20, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Every year, citizens of Laredo mark the birthday of
- 6 the Father of Our Country, in tribute to a champion of liberty who
- 7 is revered in countries throughout the Americas; for nearly a
- 8 century, the observance has been organized by the Washington's
- 9 Birthday Celebration Association, which is led this year by its
- 10 2016-2017 president, Eddie Villarreal; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Since the celebration's beginning as a two-day
- 12 affair in 1898, it has gradually evolved into a grand festival
- 13 encompassing numerous events and drawing some 400,000 people; those
- 14 attending the festivities enjoy marching bands and parade floats,
- 15 spectacular fireworks displays, food, games, and performances by
- 16 entertainers from both sides of the border; additionally, the
- 17 association annually selects two individuals to portray George and
- 18 Martha Washington at various celebration events, and this year the
- 19 honor has gone to Douglas Blair Howland and Linda Lopez-Howland;
- 20 and
- 21 WHEREAS, This much-anticipated celebration exemplifies the
- 22 spirit and enthusiasm of Laredoans and the pride they take in their
- 23 city and country; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 143

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize the members of the Washington's
- 2 Birthday Celebration Association for their patriotism and
- 3 dedication and extend to them sincere best wishes for a joyous 120th
- 4 Washington's Birthday Celebration; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the association as an expression of high regard by the
- 7 Texas House of Representatives.

 ${\tt Raymond}$ 

## H.R. No. 143

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 143
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 143 was	adopted by the House on January
25, 2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House