H.R. No. 147

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sandy Spoonemore of Plano was named Ms. Wheelchair

Texas at the Crown Jewel of Texas Gala in Houston on February 6,

3 2016; and

2

13

WHEREAS, Affiliated with the Ms. Wheelchair America program,

5 which was established in 1972, the Ms. Wheelchair Texas pageant

6 selects a supremely accomplished and articulate woman to serve as a

7 spokesperson for the millions of disabled individuals in the Lone

8 Star State; the winner qualifies for the Ms. Wheelchair America

9 contest and spends the next year traveling and making public

10 appearances to raise awareness of both the needs and the

11 achievements of her constituency; and

WHEREAS, An inspiring role model, Ms. Spoonemore competed

with nine other contestants to become Ms. Wheelchair Texas; as the

14 titleholder for 2016, she will be encouraging individuals,

15 families, companies, and the State of Texas to recognize that

16 everyone has value and purpose; and

17 WHEREAS, This longtime Plano resident earned her bachelor's

18 degree at Baylor University and went on to find success working with

19 Fortune 500 companies; she later left the corporate world to embark

20 on a rewarding career with Mary Kay Cosmetics, where she currently

21 serves as an independent sales director, responsible for managing

22 and mentoring a team of 85; in honor of her innovation, marketing

23 skills, and commitment to excellence, she received the 2009

24 Entrepreneurship Award from the Governor's Committee on People with

H.R. No. 147

- 1 Disabilities; and
- WHEREAS, While making her mark in the business world,
- 3 Ms. Spoonemore has also given generously of her time and efforts on
- 4 behalf of others with disabilities, lobbying for federal
- 5 legislation to increase employment opportunities and volunteering
- 6 at the 2000 Paralympic Summer Games in Sydney; and
- 7 WHEREAS, Sandy Spoonemore has demonstrated a boundless
- 8 determination and positive spirit in pursuing her goals, and she is
- 9 a tremendous source of pride to all who know her; now, therefore, be
- 10 it
- 11 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 12 Legislature hereby congratulate Sandy Spoonemore on being named
- 13 Ms. Wheelchair Texas 2016 and extend to her sincere best wishes for
- 14 a meaningful and memorable reign; and, be it further
- 15 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for Ms. Spoonemore as an expression of high regard by the
- 17 Texas House of Representatives.

Leach

H.R. No. 147

Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr.	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson
Faircloth	Minjarez	Vo
Farrar	Morrison	White
Frank Frullo	Murphy Murr	Workman
Geren	Neave	Wray Wu
Gervin-Hawkins Giddings	Nevárez Oliveira	Zedler Zerwas

	H.R. No. 147
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 147 wa 1, 2017, by a non-record vote.	s adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House