RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of Uvalde County are gathering in

Austin on February 15, 2017, to celebrate Uvalde County Day at the

3 State Capitol; and

2

6

13

4 WHEREAS, The Uvalde area was once a hunting ground of the

5 Comanche, Tonkawa, and Lipan Apache peoples; a Spanish mission was

established in the region in 1762, and in 1790, Juan de Ugalde, the

7 governor of Coahuila, won a decisive victory over the Apaches; the

8 site of the battle was named in honor of the governor, and an

9 altered spelling of his name--Uvalde--was later applied to the

10 county; and

11 WHEREAS, Permanent settlers began to arrive in the 1850s, and

12 Uvalde County was established in 1856; a rough-and-tumble frontier

area during and after the Civil War, the county became a ranching

14 center in the late 1800s and was also renowned for its honey, which

15 took first prize at the Paris World's Fair in 1900; today, the

16 county's economy continues to be based on agribusiness, including

17 farming and the raising of livestock such as cattle, sheep, and

18 goats; and

19 WHEREAS, Four spring-fed rivers, the Nueces, Leona, Sabinal,

20 and Frio, have cut ruggedly beautiful canyons through the region's

21 rolling hills, and the county draws hunters from around the state

22 with its abundance of deer, quail, doves, and turkeys; swimmers,

23 campers, bird-watchers, and other outdoors enthusiasts enjoy the

24 scenic delights of Garner State Park, nestled in the hills near

- 1 Utopia, Concan, and Reagan Wells, and Cooks Slough Sanctuary and
- 2 Nature Park, just outside Uvalde; other notable communities include
- 3 Knippa, Cline, and Montell, and Sabinal is a popular ranch center
- 4 and retirement area; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Founded more than 150 years ago, the city of Uvalde
- 6 is the county seat and is home to a number of attractions; John
- 7 Nance "Cactus Jack" Garner, the 32nd vice president of the United
- 8 States, lived and practiced law there; former Texas governor Dolph
- 9 Briscoe Jr. was born and raised in the city and returned to it
- 10 following the completion of his terms in office; the Briscoe Art and
- 11 Antique Collection displays works collected by Governor Briscoe and
- 12 his wife, and the Aviation Museum at Garner Field houses World War
- 13 II memorabilia and aircraft in an original army airfield hangar; in
- 14 addition, the town hosts presentations by the Sahawe Indian
- 15 Dancers, who help preserve the Native American cultural practices
- 16 of the Southwest with their popular dance performances; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their rich history, the
- 18 citizens of Uvalde County are looking ahead to the opportunities of
- 19 the future, and they may take great pride in the contributions that
- 20 this unique region has made to the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 21 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 15, 2017, as Uvalde County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

King of Uvalde

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 174
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 174 was 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House