RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud community members are gathering in Austin on
February 9, 2017, to celebrate South Texas Independent School
District Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Originally known as the Rio Grande Rehabilitation 4 5 District, the South Texas Independent School District was established in 1964 to create further educational opportunities for 6 area youths with disabilities; in 1983, legislators broadened the 7 district's purpose to allow it to operate vocational magnet 8 schools, and as a result, STISD opened South Texas High School for 9 Health Professions in 1984 and The Science Academy of South Texas 10 11 five years later; the district established the Teacher Academy of 12 South Texas in 1993, subsequently renaming the school South Texas Business, Education & Technology Academy to reflect an expanded 13 14 focus; over the following years, the magnet program continued to grow with the addition of South Texas Academy for Medical 15 16 Professions, South Texas Preparatory Academy, and Rising Scholars Academy of South Texas; and 17

WHEREAS, Currently encompassing six college-preparatory magnet schools in Edinburg, San Benito, Mercedes, and Olmito, STISD is the only all-magnet district in the state; it serves more than 3,800 junior high and high school students and maintains an open enrollment policy that attracts interested and hardworking pupils from 28 school districts in Cameron, Hidalgo, and Willacy Counties; in addition, it continues to provide educational and occupational

1

1 training for students with special needs through its career and 2 technology half-day program; and

H.R. No. 179

3 WHEREAS, The district's superintendent, Dr. Marla M. Guerra, ably guides a staff of accomplished teachers, administrators, and 4 support personnel who are deeply committed to the success of young 5 people in the tri-county area; in 2016, for the third year in a row, 6 the Texas Education Agency awarded the district a "met standard" 7 8 rating and the postsecondary readiness distinction designation, the only one available for districts; furthermore, all campuses in 9 the South Texas ISD received a "met standard" rating, with three of 10 the campuses earning all distinctions for which they were eligible; 11 12 and

13 WHEREAS, The faculty and staff of South Texas ISD continue to 14 look for new ways to help students achieve, lead, and contribute to 15 a changing world; to that end, the district is completing its third 16 round of collaborative strategic planning to develop a framework to 17 guide its efforts over the next five years; and

WHEREAS, For more than half a century, the South Texas Independent School District has dedicated itself to offering students the best educational opportunities possible, and in so doing, it has equipped several generations of Texans with the knowledge and skills necessary to build a brighter future; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize February 9, 2017, as South Texas Independent School District Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those in attendance sincere best wishes for an enjoyable visit

2

1 to Austin; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the district as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives.

Guerra

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 179 was adopted by the House on February 9, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House