H.R. No. 182

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of the city of Alton are visiting
- 2 Austin on February 1, 2017, in celebration of City of Alton Day at
- 3 the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Once a stop on the San Benito and Rio Grande Valley
- 5 Railway, also known as "the Spiderweb Railroad," Alton was founded
- 6 in 1911 by citizens from Alton, Illinois, and officials of the Alton
- 7 Illinois Railroad; the town was known for its quarries, which
- 8 produced caliche for use in countless construction projects in
- 9 parts north; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The people of Alton voted to incorporate under a
- 11 general rule charter in 1978; 28 years later, the city adopted a
- 12 home rule charter; and
- 13 WHEREAS, The community selected as its motto "City on the
- 14 Grow," and it has indeed prospered in recent years; in 2000, it was
- 15 home to about 4,100 Texans, and in 2016, U.S. Census estimates
- 16 placed the population at some 15,500; more than 80 percent of
- 17 householders are homeowners, well above the national average;
- 18 recent years have seen the opening of numerous new businesses, and
- 19 the city completed construction of the fire station as well as a
- 20 number of major infrastructure projects; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Alton may take great pride in its heritage of hard
- 22 work as it builds toward a bright and promising future; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 182

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 1, 2017, as City of Alton Day
- 2 at the State Capitol and extend to the members of the visiting
- 3 delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and informative
- 4 event.

Guerra

## H.R. No. 182

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Gooden Alvarado Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Workman Murphy Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 182
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 182 was 1, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House