H.R. No. 184

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, World War II veteran Sherman H. Jackson Jr. of Waco
has been featured in the Waco Tribune-Herald as one of its Voices of
Valor; and

WHEREAS, A native of Yoakum, Mr. Jackson was a captain in the ROTC at Prairie View A&M University when he was inducted into the U.S. Army in November 1943; he served at Fort Francis E. Warren in Cheyenne, Wyoming, where he trained new recruits, and he was honorably discharged in 1946, at the rank of sergeant; and

9 WHEREAS, After returning to civilian life, Mr. Jackson 10 earned his bachelor's and master's degrees in biology from Prairie 11 View A&M and enjoyed a 38-year career as a biology teacher in 12 Hillsboro and Waco schools; in 1950, he married a fellow teacher, 13 Carrie Harvey, with whom he shared more than a half century before 14 her passing in 2003; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Jackson is active in his church, where he served as director of the Sunday school for nearly four decades; he continues to serve the church today at the district and national levels; he is also a skilled musician, and in addition to playing a number of instruments, he counts bowling, swimming, biking, playing tennis, and traveling among his favorite pastimes; and

21 WHEREAS, Through his willingness to serve this great nation, 22 Sherman Jackson fulfilled the highest ideals of the United States 23 armed forces, and his fellow citizens owe him a lasting debt of 24 gratitude; now, therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 184

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby honor Sherman H. Jackson Jr. for his exemplary 3 service to his country as a member of the United States Army and 4 congratulate him on his recognition as one of the Voices of Valor by 5 the Waco Tribune-Herald; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Jackson as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Anderson of McLennan

H.R. No. 184

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 184 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House