H.R. No. 194

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Bryson High School theater program is being recognized with the unveiling of a marker honoring its 2016 UIL Class 1A High School One-Act Play state championship; and WHEREAS, Ably guided by principal Eric Wilson, Bryson High is a rural school with fewer than 100 students but an exceptionally

7 Play program at Bryson was developed in 2012 by Christy Stout, and 8 the group participated in its first UIL One-Act Play event the same

high degree of student involvement and achievement; the One-Act

9 year; despite their inexperience, the cast, crew, and directors

10 made it to the area level, where several members received

11 individual awards; the Bryson students also reached the UIL area

12 contest in 2013 and again in 2014, and the following year, the 13 troupe advanced to the regional competition for the first time in

14 its history; there, it was named alternate representative at the

15 state contest for a rendition of scenes from These Shining Lives, by

16 Melanie Marnich; and

6

WHEREAS, Continuing this remarkable streak of success, 17 18 Bryson High captured the 2016 UIL Class 1A One-Act Play state championship with a stellar presentation of The Balkan Women, by 19 Jules Tasca; directed by Christy Stout and Sarah Stearns, the cast 20 21 was composed of Emily Berend, who garnered the All Star Cast award, 22 Brooklyn Stout, who took home an Honorable Mention All Star Cast 23 award, Trey Foyt, Katie Sherrin, Clayton Dennis, Tim Henderson, 24 Tristan Stephens, Paxton Whitaker, Tyler Tuel, John Bagwell, Kelsee

H.R. No. 194

- 1 Jennings, Maryum Keyser, Jacie Lewis, Caleigh Forbus, Chasity
- 2 Benefield, Britney Sorbarzo, and Dillon Orr, and the crew was
- 3 composed of Emily Alaniz, Caity Welch, Cara Welch, Tanner Buchanan,
- 4 and Taylor Imotichey; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Claiming a state title is a remarkable feat that
- 6 represents hard work, dedication, and countless hours of
- 7 researching roles, memorizing lines, and rehearsing, and these
- 8 gifted young Texans may indeed reflect with pride on their
- 9 outstanding accomplishment; now, therefore, be it
- 10 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 11 Legislature hereby congratulate the Bryson High School theater
- 12 program on winning the 2016 UIL Class 1A High School One-Act Play
- 13 state championship and extend sincere best wishes to the program's
- 14 participants and supporters for the future; and, be it further
- RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 16 prepared for the members of the theater program as an expression of
- 17 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 194

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 194
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 194 was 8, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House