H.R. No. 195

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives of the State of Texas 2 is pleased to honor Catholic education across the state and 3 recognize the last Sunday of January into the first Sunday of 4 February as Texas Catholic Schools Week; and

5 WHEREAS, Catholic education has been vital in offering academic excellence and faith-filled education for students. 6 7 Catholic Schools have been long established in Texas dating back to 1541. Schools such as Central Catholic High School in San Antonio, 8 9 est in 1852, serve as memorials to the religious lay women and men who dedicated their lives to promoting and nurturing Catholic 10 11 education in the state. Today there are two hundred-and-sixty-eight 12 Catholic schools in Texas, and

WHEREAS, the goals of Catholic education are to promote 13 14 faith, service, and knowledge, within the local community, and in teaching its students these values they may better their global 15 16 community. Catholic education supports local communities by providing support to families, students, and parishioners; and 17 through their exceptional test scores, high school graduation 18 rates, college attendance, Catholic education has provided 19 20 significant contributions to the Texas education landscape by providing education to 75,000 students annually. They have proven 21 worthy of special recognition of the Lone Star State; now, 22 23 therefore, be it

24

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

1 Legislature, hereby commend the Catholic education of this state 2 for their important services and recognize the last Sunday of 3 January through the first Sunday of February to be Catholic Schools 4 Week; and, be it

H.R. No. 195

5 RESOLVED, That a copy of this proclamation be prepared as an 6 expression of high regard from the Texas House of Representatives. Springer

H.R. No. 195

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 195

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 195 was adopted by the House on January 31, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House