H.R. No. 196

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, School boards play a crucial role in meeting the
- 2 diverse educational needs of the children in their districts, and
- 3 the observance of School Board Recognition Month in January 2017
- 4 provides a welcome opportunity to honor the trustees of the Mission
- 5 Consolidated Independent School District; and
- 6 WHEREAS, The mission of public schools throughout the state
- 7 and nation is to empower children to become productive contributors
- 8 to society in an ever-changing world; to that end, the Mission CISD
- 9 school board members partner closely with superintendent Dr.
- 10 Ricardo López, along with parents, teachers, and community leaders,
- 11 to set policy that promotes a learning environment in which all
- 12 students have a chance to thrive; and
- WHEREAS, The dedicated individuals currently serving on the
- 14 Mission CISD Board of Trustees are president Patricia Y.
- 15 O'Caña-Olivarez, vice president Roy Vela, secretary Petra B.
- 16 Ramirez, and members Minnie R. Rodgers, Charlie Garcia III, Dr.
- 17 Sonia M. Treviño, and Jerry Zamora; and
- WHEREAS, Each of these notable Texans demonstrates a truly
- 19 exemplary commitment to area students and brings a set of skills and
- 20 a range of experience that contribute immeasurably to the
- 21 successful operation of the district; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby honor the Mission Consolidated Independent
- 24 School District Board of Trustees on the occasion of School Board

H.R. No. 196

- 1 Recognition Month and extend to its members sincere appreciation
- 2 for their outstanding service to the community; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the Mission CISD Board of Trustees as an expression of
- 5 high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Muñoz, Jr. Guerra

H.R. No. 196

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 196 was adopted by the House on January 31, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House