H.R. No. 198

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Panhandle Elementary School has been named a 2016
- 2 National Blue Ribbon School, one of the most prestigious
- 3 designations an elementary or secondary school in the United States
- 4 can receive; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Created by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982,
- 6 the Blue Ribbon Schools Program recognizes schools that have
- 7 demonstrated overall academic excellence or that have made
- 8 significant progress in improving outcomes among disadvantaged
- 9 students; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Skillfully led by principal Taylor Norvell,
- 11 Panhandle Elementary is one of only 29 campuses in Texas and 330
- 12 public and private schools in the nation to attain blue ribbon
- 13 designation in 2016; the institution serves over 300 students in
- 14 prekindergarten through fifth grade in the Panhandle Independent
- 15 School District; over the years, it has received a number of awards
- 16 and distinctions from the Texas Education Agency as well; and
- WHEREAS, Through their diligence, hard work, and dedication,
- 18 the students and faculty of Panhandle Elementary School have built
- 19 an impressive record of scholastic achievement, and they may take
- 20 great pride in earning this significant honor; now, therefore, be
- 21 it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Panhandle Elementary School on its
- 24 selection as a 2016 National Blue Ribbon School and extend to its

H.R. No. 198

- 1 students, teachers, and staff sincere best wishes for continued
- 2 success; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 5 House of Representatives.

Price

## H.R. No. 198

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 198
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 198 was	adopted by the House on January
30, 2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House