H.R. No. 205

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Across the nation, January 2017 is being observed as

Cervical Health Awareness Month, providing a fitting opportunity to

3 raise awareness about cervical cancer; and

WHEREAS, Each year, cervical cancer claims the lives of about

5 4,000 women in America, and approximately 12,000 are diagnosed

6 annually with the disease; while all women are at risk for cervical

7 cancer, it occurs most often among women over the age of 30, and it

8 is more prevalent among Hispanic and African American women; and

9 WHEREAS, Having once been one of the most deadly forms of

cancer for women, cervical cancer today is considered highly

11 treatable with early detection; regular screening tests that can

12 help identify abnormal cells in the cervix have led to a significant

13 decrease in the cervical cancer death rate; the disease can also be

14 prevented through the use of vaccinations against human

15 papillomavirus, a common infection and a leading cause of cervical

16 cancer; and

2

10

WHEREAS, Increased public awareness, support, and advocacy

18 are key to improving the detection and treatment of cervical cancer

19 and the survival rates of women impacted by the disease, and the

20 monthlong observance in January is an opportunity for Texans to

21 affirm their commitment to these important efforts; now, therefore,

22 be it

23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

24 Legislature hereby recognize January 2017 as Cervical Health

H.R. No. 205

- 1 Awareness Month and commend all those who are involved in the fight
- 2 to end cervical cancer.

Farrar

## H.R. No. 205

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 205 was	adopted by the House on January
17, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 205

31, 2017, by a non-record vote.