By: Shine

H.R. No. 212

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football team 2 reached the pinnacle of success by winning the NCAA Division III national championship in Salem, Virginia, on December 16, 2016; and 3 WHEREAS, Facing off against the University of Wisconsin 4 Oshkosh Titans in the Amos Alonzo Stagg Bowl, the Crusaders 5 clinched their first national title in school history with a score 6 7 of 10-7; the triumph capped an undefeated season, in which UMHB's 15 victories established new school and American Southwest Conference 8 9 records for single-season wins; and

10 WHEREAS, The Crusaders excelled throughout the season with a 11 true team effort, receiving valuable contributions from each member 12 of the roster; moreover, the squad was ably guided by head coach 13 Pete Fredenburg, who was deservedly named the 2016 Division III 14 National Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches 15 Association; and

16 WHEREAS, Through hard work, exceptional skill, and fine 17 sportsmanship, the 2016 Crusaders team achieved a history-making 18 year that will long be remembered and celebrated by UMHB students, 19 alumni, and fans; now, therefore, be it

20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the University of Mary 22 Hardin-Baylor football team on winning the 2016 NCAA Division III 23 national championship and extend to the team's players, coaches, 24 and staff sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it

1

H.R. No. 212

1 further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas 4 House of Representatives.