RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The House of Representatives is pleased to join
- 2 Texans across the state in celebrating Children's Advocacy Centers
- 3 of Texas Legislative Day at the State Capitol on January 31, 2017;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, Children's Advocacy Centers of Texas can trace its
- 6 origins back to 1989, when the state's first children's advocacy
- 7 center, The Bridge, was established in Amarillo; this pioneering
- 8 organization joined with 12 other local centers in 1994 to form
- 9 CACTX, which now has a membership of 70 children's advocacy centers
- 10 throughout the state; and
- 11 WHEREAS, CACTX provides a wide variety of assistance for
- 12 local centers, including training, technical support, and
- 13 evaluation services; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The CACTX member centers serve more than 43,000
- 15 children each year by working closely with multidisciplinary teams
- 16 that include law enforcement and the Department of Family and
- 17 Protective Services to coordinate joint investigations of child
- 18 abuse and to help child victims receive the services they need to
- 19 heal; and
- WHEREAS, Since its inception, Children's Advocacy Centers of
- 21 Texas has worked tirelessly to protect the state's most vulnerable
- 22 population, and it is indeed deserving of recognition for its
- 23 contributions to the well-being of countless young Texans and their
- 24 families; now, therefore, be it

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize January 31, 2017, as Children's 2 Advocacy Centers of Texas Day at the State Capitol and commend the 3 4 organization and its member centers on their efforts to ensure that abused children receive justice and healing; and, be it further 5 6 RESOLVED, That Children's Advocacy Centers of Texas be 7 extended best wishes for a successful legislative day at the Capitol and that an official copy of this resolution be prepared for 8 the organization as an expression of high regard by the Texas House 9 of Representatives. 10

Price

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 218 was	adopted by the House on January
17, by a non-record vote.	

31, 2017, by a non-record vote.