H.R. No. 238

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Renee Rodriguez-Betancourt was sworn in as the judge of State District Court 449 at a ceremony in Edinburg on January 1, 2017, becoming the youngest district judge currently serving in the State of Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, An Edinburg native, Ms. Rodriguez-Betancourt 6 graduated from Edinburg High School in 1999, and she went on to earn 7 a bachelor's degree at The University of Texas--Pan American and a 8 law degree from The University of Texas at Austin; she established a 9 law practice in her hometown in 2012; and

10 WHEREAS, Elected in May 2016, Judge Rodriguez-Betancourt 11 will serve a four-year term as the district judge presiding over 12 cases concerning juveniles in Hidalgo County; in preparation, she 13 visited juvenile courts in several counties across the Lone Star 14 State, including Cameron, Bexar, and El Paso, where she examined 15 the practices of veteran juvenile judges; and

16 WHEREAS, In all her endeavors, Ms. Rodriguez-Betancourt has 17 greatly benefited from the love and support of her husband, J. R. 18 Betancourt, and their three daughters; and

WHEREAS, Judge Rodriguez-Betancourt brings to the 449th 19 20 District Court her professionalism, legal expertise, and 21 unwavering commitment to excellence, and she may indeed take pride in all that she has accomplished in her career thus far as she takes 22 23 on the challenges and opportunities of her new office; now, 24 therefore, be it

1

H.R. No. 238

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Renee 3 Rodriguez-Betancourt on becoming the judge of the 449th State 4 District Court and extend to her sincere best wishes for success in 5 her important work; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Judge Rodriguez-Betancourt as an expression of high 8 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Longoria

H.R. No. 238

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 238 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House