H.R. No. 241

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Miles Elementary School has been named a 2016 2 National Blue Ribbon School, one of the most prestigious 3 designations an elementary or secondary school in the United States 4 can receive; and

5 WHEREAS, The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982 to recognize campuses 6 that have demonstrated superior academic performance or made 7 8 notable progress in improving outcomes among economically disadvantaged students; Miles Elementary was one of only 330 public 9 and private schools nationwide and 29 schools in Texas to have 10 11 earned this impressive honor in 2016; and

12 WHEREAS, Situated among the cotton fields of West Texas, this 13 small rural school serves approximately 200 students in early 14 education programs through sixth grade; principal Sharla Arp leads the exceptional faculty and staff in implementing a variety of 15 innovative strategies and research-based interventions to create a 16 supportive and effective learning environment; student life is also 17 enriched through district-wide activities such as pep rallies and 18 sporting events; and 19

20 WHEREAS, The dedicated, hardworking teachers and students of 21 Miles Elementary School have established a record of scholastic 22 excellence, and their outstanding efforts have been duly recognized 23 with the Blue Ribbon School award; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

1 Legislature hereby congratulate Miles Elementary School on its 2 selection as a 2016 National Blue Ribbon School by the U.S. 3 Department of Education and that all those associated with the 4 school be extended sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 5 further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas 8 House of Representatives.

Darby

H.R. No. 241

H.R. No. 241

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 241 was adopted by the House on February 1, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House