By: Huberty

H.R. No. 263

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Dr. Guy Sconzo of Kingwood was presented with the 2 2016 Spirit of the Chamber Award by the Lake Houston Area Chamber of 3 Commerce on January 20, 2017; and

WHEREAS, This prestigious award is given annually to an individual who has been actively involved with the Lake Houston area chamber for more than a decade; and

7 WHEREAS, Dr. Sconzo joined the Humble Independent School District as superintendent in June 2001 and served for 15 years in 8 9 that capacity, guiding the district through a period that saw enrollment surge from 23,000 to 41,000 students; during his tenure, 10 11 this accomplished educator was named a finalist for the 2013 Texas 12 Association of School Boards Superintendent of the Year award, and the Texas Association of School Administrators selected him as its 13 2007 nominee for National Superintendent of the Year; moreover, 14 under his guidance, Humble ISD received the 2015 H-E-B Excellence 15 16 in Education Award in the large school district category; and

WHEREAS, Before joining Humble ISD, Dr. Sconzo served as a school superintendent in Ohio, New Jersey, and Oklahoma and held numerous other positions in the field of education; since September 20 2016, he has led the Fast Growth School Coalition as executive 21 director; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Guy Sconzo has brought to all his endeavors incisive leadership, deep experience, and a passionate commitment to the cause of education, and it is a privilege to join in honoring

1

H.R. No. 263

him for his myriad contributions in behalf of the Lake Houston area;
now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby congratulate Dr. Guy Sconzo on his receipt of the 2016 Spirit of the Chamber Award from the Lake Houston Area Chamber of Commerce and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it further

8 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 9 prepared for Dr. Sconzo as an expression of high regard by the Texas 10 House of Representatives.