H.R. No. 269

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Student Leadership Magnolia ISD is contributing
- 2 immeasurably to its Southeast Texas community by working to develop
- 3 future civic leaders and volunteers; and
- WHEREAS, Overseen by the district's superintendent, Dr. Todd
- 5 Stephens, and director of career and technical education,
- 6 Dr. Matthew Clark, this important initiative provides
- 7 opportunities for students to meet with elected officials and
- 8 increase their knowledge of vital public issues; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Up to 22 area high school juniors are selected to
- 10 participate based on their leadership potential, scholastic
- 11 record, and character; throughout the two-year program, these
- 12 notable young Texans receive a comprehensive look at the
- 13 governmental process while working together to complete a service
- 14 project of benefit to the community; and
- WHEREAS, Through its efforts to encourage civic and political
- 16 engagement in its participants, Student Leadership Magnolia ISD is
- 17 helping lay the foundation for an informed and involved citizenry;
- 18 now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby honor Student Leadership Magnolia ISD for its
- 21 work to develop community leaders and extend to all those involved
- 22 with the program sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be
- 23 it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

H.R. No. 269

- 1 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 2 House of Representatives.

Bell

H.R. No. 269

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 269
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 269 v. 7, 2017, by a non-record vote.	was adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House