RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Community colleges play an increasingly important
- 2 role in higher education in the State of Texas, and on February 7,
- 3 2017, a delegation of several hundred Texas community college
- 4 students are gathering at the State Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Community college leaders, students, and trustees
- 6 and members of the Texas Association of Community Colleges and the
- 7 Community College Association of Texas Trustees have joined
- 8 together to discuss the essential contributions their schools make
- 9 to the state; and
- 10 WHEREAS, The total annual enrollment for Texas community and
- 11 technical colleges exceeds 700,000 students, accounting for almost
- 12 half of the state's postsecondary population and the largest sector
- 13 of higher education; and
- 14 WHEREAS, The community colleges of Texas clearly serve a
- 15 vital function in the education and economic development of the
- 16 state, and it is indeed a pleasure to welcome these outstanding
- 17 students, instructors, administrators, and trustees to Austin;
- 18 now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 7, 2017, as Community College
- 21 Day at the State Capitol and extend to all the participants sincere
- 22 best wishes for an enjoyable and informative visit.

Zerwas

H.R. No. 282

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 282
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 282 w 7, 2017, by a non-record vote.	as adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House