## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On February 16, 2017, members of the Nacogdoches 2 County Chamber of Commerce, Leadership Nacogdoches, and Stephen F. 3 Austin State University and its Student Government and Alumni 4 Associations are visiting Austin to celebrate Nacogdoches-SFA Day 5 at the State Capitol; and

6 WHEREAS, Nacogdoches is the site of a Caddo Native American 7 settlement and a Spanish mission established in 1716; founded by 8 Antonio Gil Y'Barbo, it received designation from Spain as a pueblo 9 in 1779, and today it proudly calls itself the first town in Texas; 10 and

11 WHEREAS, The city became an important gateway for trade with 12 the French and later the Americans, and claims among its lengthy 13 list of Texas milestones being home to the first English-language 14 newspaper, oil well, and two-story building, as well as the state's 15 inaugural district court session; the nine flags flown over the 16 city include those of three short-lived early republics; and

WHEREAS, Today, the vintage charm of Nacogdoches brings 17 myriad tourists, who explore such attractions as the Old Stone 18 Fort, the Victorian homes along Mound Street, the 19th-century 19 buildings of Millard's Crossing, and the quaint antique shops and 20 21 restaurants along brick downtown streets; many also come to enjoy the state-sanctioned Texas Blueberry Festival, which celebrates 22 23 the importance of the Texas blueberry industry, and to participate 24 in recreational activities at Lake Nacogdoches, Lake Naconiche, and

1

Sam Rayburn Reservoir, all known for their bass fishing; in addition to tourism, the primary industries of the area include agricultural services, manufacturing, and oil and gas, and the construction and completion of the Interstate 69 system is critical to continuing development in Nacogdoches County; and

WHEREAS, Education has been an important part of the area's 6 7 economy since Stephen F. Austin State University opened its doors 8 to 158 students on September 18, 1923; its alumni association was organized just five years later and has worked diligently through 9 10 the years to support the school, which now has an enrollment of approximately 13,000 students; SFA boasts an exceptionally scenic 11 12 campus recognized for the SFA Gardens and also operates a beef and poultry farm, a dairy farm, an experimental forest, a forestry 13 14 field station, and the Waters of East Texas Center; its observatory 15 is the second largest not only in Texas but also in the Central Time Zone, and on November 7, 2016, a groundbreaking ceremony was held 16 17 for the Ed and Gwen Cole STEM Building, which will provide new educational opportunities for all Texans; and 18

WHEREAS, Beautifully situated in the Texas Forest Country, Nacogdoches is attracting active retired Texans; it was one of the first three communities in Texas recognized as a Go Texan certified retirement community because of its cultural and sporting events, health care, safety, and continuing education opportunities; additionally, it has been designated the official Garden Capital of Texas; and

26 WHEREAS, The combination of numerous amenities and a 27 neighborly atmosphere makes Nacogdoches a splendid place to live,

2

1 work, and study, and it is a pleasure to welcome those representing 2 the many facets of this vibrant part of the Lone Star State; now, 3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 16, 2017, as Nacogdoches-SFA
Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation best
wishes for an enjoyable stay in Austin.

Clardy

H.R. No. 290

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 290 was adopted by the House on February 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House