H.R. No. 316

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The retirement of Tom Ward as constable for
- 2 Matagorda County Precinct 6 on December 31, 2016, provides a
- 3 fitting opportunity to recognize him for his 35 years of dedicated
- 4 public service to the area; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A lifelong resident of Cedar Lake, Tom Ward began
- 6 his law enforcement career in July 1981 as a reserve deputy for the
- 7 Matagorda County Sheriff's Office; he was elected constable for
- 8 Precinct 6 in 1988, and he held that position for 28 years; and
- 9 WHEREAS, Passionate about giving back to his fellow citizens,
- 10 Mr. Ward has volunteered countless hours with the annual Sargent
- 11 Beach Clean-Up, the local Veterans of Foreign Wars, the Friends of
- 12 the Sargent Library, the Sargent Fire Department, the Economic
- 13 Action Committee, and the Sargent Area Chamber of Commerce, which
- 14 presented him with its prestigious 2016 Man of the Year Award for
- 15 his many contributions to the community; and
- WHEREAS, Mr. Ward enjoyed the love and support of his wife,
- 17 Marion, for nearly four decades, before her death in 2005; with the
- 18 passing years, he has had the pleasure of watching his family grow
- 19 to include two children, Reeva and Keith, and eight grandchildren;
- 20 and
- 21 WHEREAS, Tom Ward's deep commitment to public service has
- 22 greatly benefited the citizens of Matagorda County, and he may
- 23 indeed take justifiable pride in his many achievements; now,
- 24 therefore, be it

H.R. No. 316

- 1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 2 Legislature hereby honor Tom Ward for his service to Matagorda
- 3 County and extend to him sincere best wishes for continued
- 4 happiness and fulfillment; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Mr. Ward as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Bonnen of Brazoria

H.R. No. 316

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 316
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 7, 2017, by a non-record vote.	316 was adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House