H.R. No. 321

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Mental Illness Awareness Day is being hosted at the 2 State Capitol on February 8, 2017, by the Mental Illness Awareness 3 Coalition in an effort to raise public consciousness of an issue 4 impacting the lives of millions of Texans; and

5 WHEREAS, While it is estimated that one in every five 6 Americans suffers from mental illness, a higher rate than that of 7 cancer, diabetes, or heart disease, many conditions can be managed 8 effectively with treatment, making it possible for patients to lead 9 healthy and meaningful lives; and

WHEREAS, The State of Texas is home to organizations that are 10 11 committed to improving services and support for persons with mental 12 illness; among those organizations are the National Alliance on Mental Illness of Texas, Mental Health America of Texas, the 13 14 Federation of Texas Psychiatry, and the Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance of Texas, which together form the Mental Illness 15 16 Awareness Coalition; through education and advocacy, these groups endeavor to promote treatment and prevention, eliminate the stigma 17 of mental illness, increase housing opportunities, and advance 18 investment in mental health programs with the goal of maximizing 19 20 outcomes for as many Texans as possible; and

21 WHEREAS, Mental health is fundamental to the overall health 22 and well-being of all people, and Mental Illness Awareness Day 23 provides an opportunity to bring attention to this vitally 24 important matter and to the commendable efforts of those

1

H.R. No. 321
1 organizations and advocates who are working to ensure that all
2 Texans are afforded the care they need; now, therefore, be it
3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

4 Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2017, as Mental Illness
5 Awareness Day at the State Capitol and encourage all Texans to learn
6 more about mental health conditions, treatment, and prevention.

Price Moody Coleman White Bonnen of Galveston

H.R. No. 321

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 321

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 321 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House