H.R. No. 325

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Residents of Panola County are gathering in Austin 2 on February 7, 2017, to celebrate Panola County Day at the State

3 Capitol; and

12

13

4 WHEREAS, Located in northeastern Texas and forming part of

5 the state's border with Louisiana, Panola County covers more than

6 800 square miles of forests and rolling plains and is traversed by

7 the Sabine River; the area experienced a land rush in the 1830s as

8 settlers arrived from the southern United States; on March 30,

9 1846, the Texas Legislature officially created Panola County, and

10 two years later, voters chose Carthage as the county seat; and

11 WHEREAS, It is believed that Judge John Allison, a prominent

civic leader, suggested the name Panola, which may be derived from

the Cherokee word for cotton, ponolo; the area's rich soil was well

14 suited to the crop, and cotton became the county's main

15 agricultural product; today, Panola County enjoys a diversified

16 economy, primarily based in oil and gas production, agriculture,

17 food processing, and timber; the lush forests also make the county a

18 popular destination for hiking, birding, and camping enthusiasts,

19 while anglers enjoy the good fishing waters of Martin Creek Lake and

20 Murvaul Lake; and

21 WHEREAS, With nearly 50 Texas Historical Commission markers,

22 Panola County has a rich and fascinating history; it was the

23 birthplace of several notable Texans, including Margie Elizabeth

24 Neal, the first woman elected to serve in the Texas Senate, and

H.R. No. 325

- 1 country music stars Tex Ritter and Jim Reeves; a museum dedicated to
- 2 Mr. Ritter and a memorial devoted to Mr. Reeves are located in
- 3 Carthage, as is the Texas Country Music Hall of Fame, which honors
- 4 the legacies of both of these men, along with other country music
- 5 legends from the state; and
- 6 WHEREAS, Carthage, which was named a National Main Street
- 7 City in Texas in 2011, is also home to Panola College and the
- 8 historic Esquire Theater, which hosts the Country Music Hayride
- 9 live music show every Saturday night; other popular events taking
- 10 place in the county seat include the Piney Woods Quilt Festival in
- 11 April and the East Texas Oil and Gas Blast in October, which
- 12 features music, a car show, and arts and crafts; in addition, the
- 13 Footprints in the Sand monument, a poignant religious sculpture at
- 14 Pippen Memorial Park, was completed in 2014; and
- WHEREAS, The citizens of Panola County take great pride in
- 16 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter
- 17 future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them and their unique
- 18 contributions to the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 19 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 20 Legislature hereby recognize February 7, 2017, as Panola County Day
- 21 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
- 22 best wishes for a memorable and meaningful visit to Austin.

Paddie

H.R. No. 325

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Coleman Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 325
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 325 was	adopted by the House on February
7, 2017, by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House