H.R. No. 329

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Donald Herbert Metch of Canton was honored with the 2 2016 Texas Farm Bureau Pioneer Award for District 5 at the 3 organization's annual meeting in San Antonio; and

WHEREAS, Each year, this prestigious award is given to individuals from each of TFB's 13 districts for their outstanding contributions to the Farm Bureau and to agricultural initiatives; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Metch joined the Van Zandt County Farm Bureau in 8 9 1982 and has since served as secretary for the county's board of directors, volunteered with the association's Planet Agriculture 10 11 exhibit at the State Fair of Texas, and encouraged political 12 education and advocacy through his involvement with the organization's forums, debates, and political candidate events; 13 14 and

WHEREAS, A farmer and rancher by trade, Mr. Metch has been named a Van Zandt County Agriculturalist of the Year, and he has received recognition as a top hay and beef producer; over the years he has been active in such organizations as the Texas Association of Nurserymen, Texas Polled Hereford Association, and 4-H; he has also served his community as a volunteer firefighter, and he is a valued member of Four Mile Lutheran Church; and

WHEREAS, Donald Metch has dedicated many years to the growth and sustainment of the state's agricultural industry and to the Van Zandt County community at large, and he may surely reflect with

1

H.R. No. 329

1 pride on these notable achievements; now, therefore, be it

2 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 3 Legislature hereby congratulate Donald Herbert Metch on his receipt 4 of a 2016 Texas Farm Bureau Pioneer Award and extend to him sincere 5 best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; and, be it 6 further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
prepared for Mr. Metch as an expression of high regard by the Texas
House of Representatives.

Flynn

H.R. No. 329

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 329 was adopted by the House on February 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House