H.R. No. 333

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Proud residents of Pearland are gathering in Austin
 on February 22, 2017, to celebrate Pearland Day at the State
 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in Brazoria County, Pearland was originally 4 5 established as Mark Belt in 1893, but in November of that year, its name was changed to reflect the large number of pear trees in the 6 7 area; by 1898, the town had a newspaper, 12 businesses, and 75 residents; however, its growth slowed considerably, and many of its 8 9 fruit trees were destroyed when it was hit by the Galveston hurricane in 1900; the planting of oranges and figs helped revive 10 local agriculture, until the freeze of 1918 caused another wave of 11 12 damage; Pearland bounced back a second time, though, and in 1934, oil and gas were discovered in the area, prompting significant 13 growth in the decades that followed; and 14

WHEREAS, Today, while enjoying the benefits of its proximity 15 16 to Houston and such sites as the Johnson Space Center and Galveston Beach, Pearland maintains its own unique character; in 1999, it was 17 named an All-America City by the National Civic League, and its 18 notable attractions include the more than 100-year-old Gulf, 19 20 Colorado and Santa Fe Railroad Depot and Pearland Town Center, a mixed-use development of retail outlets, hotel accommodations, and 21 residential units; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Home to an engaged citizenry and a vibrant business 24 community, Pearland has established itself as a city of growth and

1

H.R. No. 333 1 opportunity while retaining its small-town charm, and its residents 2 may indeed take justifiable pride in the place they call home; now, 3 therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2017, as Pearland Day at
the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere
best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Thompson of Brazoria Paul Allen

H.R. No. 333

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 333

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 333 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House