RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Univision has built an impressive record of success 2 as a multimedia company primarily serving Hispanic Americans, and 3 it has also distinguished itself through its exceptional community 4 service endeavors; and

5 WHEREAS, The network traces its roots to San Antonio, where, 1955, Raul Cortez founded a television station that led 6 in 7 eventually to the creation of the Spanish International Network, the first non-English-language TV network in the United States; in 8 9 1986, the network's name was changed to Univision, and in 1988, it began to produce programming for a national audience; today, 10 11 Univision encompasses 17 broadcast, cable, and digital networks, 12 126 local TV and radio stations in major markets, and such online venues as Univision.com, Uforia, The Root, Gizmodo, Jezebel, 13 14 Deadspin, and Lifehacker; and

WHEREAS, Univision has committed itself to making a positive 15 16 difference in the communities it serves, and since 2013, the company's Univision Contigo platform has worked to empower Hispanic 17 18 Americans in such areas as health, education, and civic involvement; the initiative has been recognized by the Save the 19 20 Children Foundation and has earned a Cynopsis Social Good Award, 21 two Beacon Awards from the Association of Cable Communicators, the Cesar E. Chavez Award from the United States Hispanic Leadership 22 23 Institute, and the Corporation of the Year Award from LULAC, among many others; and 24

1

In Texas, Univision's "Estudia, hay Dinero" 1 WHEREAS, campaign assisted 8,000 students in filling out federal student aid 2 applications, and the company helped 3,000 viewers to receive free 3 screenings at local health fairs; in addition, Univision 4 participated in 11 back-to-school events that reached 52,000 5 people, and its nonpartisan community call centers received 6 7 inquiries from 30,000 Texans seeking information on how to participate in the electoral process; and 8

9 WHEREAS, Univision provides diverse cultural representation 10 and a powerful voice for the fastest-growing demographic in the 11 nation, and its outreach efforts are encouraging countless people 12 to become more deeply engaged in their communities; now, therefore, 13 be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 15 Legislature hereby commend Univision on its success and its 16 exemplary record of public service and extend to the network's 17 management and staff sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it 18 further

19 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 20 prepared for Univision as an expression of high regard by the Texas 21 House of Representatives.

Rodriguez of Travis

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 340 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House