H.R. No. 354

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Winkler County are gathering in
- 2 Austin on February 8, 2017, to celebrate Winkler County Day at the
- 3 State Capitol; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Anasazi were the earliest known people in the
- 5 Winkler County area, and then in the 1880s, cattlemen established
- 6 large ranches on free state land; Winkler County was carved out of
- 7 Tom Green County and named after Clinton W. Winkler, a state
- 8 legislator and judge; and
- 9 WHEREAS, In 1910, the county was officially organized and the
- 10 town of Kermit, named after Theodore Roosevelt's son, was chosen as
- 11 county seat; the oil boom of the 1920s brought so many people that
- 12 residents lived in tents and makeshift shelters, and a new town,
- 13 Winkler, sprang up; when the postal authorities advised that there
- 14 was another town with that name, it was swiftly shortened to Wink;
- 15 and
- 16 WHEREAS, During the early boom years, Wink acquired a wild
- 17 and freewheeling reputation; now, although its economy is still
- 18 based on the petroleum industry and ranching, it is better known as
- 19 the hometown of music legend Roy Orbison; his first band, the Wink
- 20 Westerners, made its radio debut on Kermit station KERB, and the Roy
- 21 Orbison Museum is today one of the town's notable attractions; and
- 22 WHEREAS, The people of Winkler County take great pride in
- 23 their rich history even as they look ahead to the opportunities of
- 24 the future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them and their unique

H.R. No. 354

- 1 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore,
- 2 be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 8, 2017, as Winkler County
- 5 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 6 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in
- 7 Austin.

Landgraf

H.R. No. 354

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 354 was adopted by the House on February 8, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House