H.R. No. 358

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens of Washington County are visiting the 2 State Capitol on February 21, 2017, to celebrate their rich 3 heritage and the contributions their county has made to the story of 4 Texas; and

WHEREAS, In the early 1820s, members of Stephen F. Austin's 5 Old Three Hundred began settling in the area of Washington County, 6 7 and they soon formed a community known as Washington-on-the-Brazos; the town became a major center of activity during the Texas 8 Revolution, and it was the site of the Convention of 1836, where 9 delegates signed the Texas Declaration of Independence and drafted 10 11 a constitution for the new republic; that same year, Washington County was formally created, and later, from 1842 to 1845, 12 Washington-on-the-Brazos served as the capital of the republic; and 13

14 WHEREAS, The population of the area grew quickly with the arrival of newcomers from Germany, Czechoslovakia, and Poland; 15 residents had several colleges to choose from, including Baylor 16 University, which was established in Independence in 1846, and 17 Soule University, which eventually merged with other schools to 18 become Southwestern University; today, that early tradition of 19 20 higher education is carried on at Blinn College, founded in 1883, in 21 Brenham, the county seat; and

22 WHEREAS, The late 1800s were a time of rapid development, and 23 as more homes and businesses were built, the need for services to 24 protect the community became critical; the Brenham Fire Department

1

H.R. No. 358
1 was established to help meet those needs, and in 2017, it is marking
2 its 150th anniversary; and

3 WHEREAS, Another venerable organization that was formed to serve the citizens of the area is the Washington County Chamber of 4 5 Commerce, which celebrated the 100th anniversary of its founding on January 31, 2017; among its many accomplishments, the chamber has 6 created numerous opportunities for education and networking, 7 8 including an annual 10-month training program, Leadership Washington County; and 9

10 WHEREAS, Thanks to its natural beauty and prominent role in early Texas history, Washington County is a popular tourist 11 destination; visitors can drive scenic country roads, enjoy the 12 recreation afforded by Lake Somerville, and step into the past at 13 14 museums in Brenham, Burton, Chappell Hill, and Independence; 15 moreover, the Star of the Republic Museum in Washington-on-the-Brazos tells the story of the Texas Republic; and 16 17 WHEREAS, Other popular attractions include Blue Bell Creameries, an eight-acre antique rose garden, the Downtown Brenham 18 19 historic district, four wineries, a microbrewery, and more than 40 bed-and-breakfasts; in addition, the area can boast of such 20 well-known events as the Washington County Fair, which is the 21 oldest county fair in Texas, along with the Burton Cotton Gin 22 23 Festival, the Bluebonnet and Scarecrow Festivals in Chappell Hill, 24 and the Brenham Maifest; and

25 WHEREAS, Celebrating their rich history as they work to build 26 an even brighter future, the residents of Washington County are 27 justifiably proud of their community, and it is indeed a pleasure to

2

H.R. No. 358 1 honor their contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, 2 therefore, be it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 21, 2017, as Washington 5 County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting 6 delegation sincere best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay 7 in Austin.

> Schubert Morrison

H.R. No. 358

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 358

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 358 was adopted by the House on February 21, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House