H.R. No. 399

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Many proud residents of Mansfield are visiting
- 2 Austin on February 15, 2017, to celebrate the distinctive
- 3 attributes and achievements of their community during Mansfield Day
- 4 at the State Capitol; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Located in the Cross Timber country of North Central
- 6 Texas, south of Arlington, the settlement was first established by
- 7 pioneers in the 1840s; in the late 1850s, R. S. Man and Julian Feild
- 8 built a gristmill in the area, at the crossroads that later became
- 9 the center of the town, which was named for the two men; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Mr. Feild soon added a general store across the
- 11 street from the mill and became the town's postmaster in 1860;
- 12 during the Civil War, the Man and Feild mill supplied meal and flour
- 13 to fighting soldiers, and it later did the same for those at United
- 14 States Army outposts and Indian reservations in Texas and New
- 15 Mexico; though incorporated in 1909, the town remained a farming
- 16 community until the suburban expansion of the Dallas/Fort Worth
- 17 area brought many new residents; and
- WHEREAS, Today, the city's more than 64,000 residents can
- 19 enjoy 240 acres of parks and a quality of life reflected in the
- 20 town's inclusion on Money magazine's 2012 list of the top places to
- 21 live in the United States; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Celebrating their heritage as they embrace the
- 23 opportunities of the future, the citizens of Mansfield are
- 24 justifiably proud of their community, and it is indeed fitting to

H.R. No. 399

- 1 honor them and their unique contributions to the story of the Lone
- 2 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 4 Legislature hereby recognize February 15, 2017, as Mansfield Day at
- 5 the State Capitol and extend to members of the visiting delegation
- 6 sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable event.

Zedler

H.R. No. 399

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Oliverson Ortega Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frank	Murphy	Workman
Frullo	Murr	Wray
Geren	Neave	Wu
Gervin-Hawkins	Nevárez	Zedler
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 399
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 399 was 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House