H.R. No. 409

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Chief Deputy John S. Galvan is being presented with
- 2 an Outstanding Community Leader Award by LULAC Council No. 1 in
- 3 Corpus Christi at the organization's 21st annual awards banquet on
- 4 February 16, 2017; and
- 5 WHEREAS, A native of Mathis, John Galvan has served as chief
- 6 deputy of the Nueces County Sheriff's Office since November 2006;
- 7 he began his career in 1969 as a military police officer in the
- 8 United States Marine Corps, and following his discharge from the
- 9 armed forces, he served with the California Highway Patrol from
- 10 1974 to 1978, when he returned to Texas; just months before his
- 11 appointment as chief deputy, he retired with the rank of major from
- 12 the Texas Department of Public Safety, where he had ably served for
- 13 nearly three decades; and
- 14 WHEREAS, In addition to fulfilling his duties as a law
- 15 enforcement officer, this esteemed Texan has given generously of
- 16 his time and talents as a member of the Mathis Independent School
- 17 District Board of Trustees for more than 23 years, over half of
- 18 which he spent as the board's president; and
- 19 WHEREAS, The strength of our communities is enhanced by the
- 20 devoted efforts of individuals such as John Galvan, whose tireless
- 21 work has contributed immeasurably to the quality of life in the
- 22 Corpus Christi area and beyond; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Chief Deputy John S. Galvan on his

H.R. No. 409

- 1 receipt of an Outstanding Community Leader Award from LULAC Council
- 2 No. 1 and extend to him sincere best wishes for the future; and, be
- 3 it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Chief Deputy Galvan as an expression of high regard by
- 6 the Texas House of Representatives.

Herrero

TT	_	3. T	409
н	ν	$N \cap$	71114

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 409 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House