RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Aggies and Longhorns are uniting at the State 2 Capitol on February 15, 2017, to celebrate Orange and Maroon 3 Legislative Day and to promote higher education in the State of 4 Texas; and

5 WHEREAS, Alumni from the two schools total more than 910,000, and Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at Austin have 6 a combined annual enrollment of more than 100,000 students, with 7 tens of thousands of students receiving degrees each year; the 8 9 schools boast superb museums and libraries, including the George Bush Presidential Library and Museum and the LBJ Presidential 10 11 Library, and both universities are renowned for their exceptional 12 research; and

WHEREAS, The teaching and research missions of Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at Austin benefit the State of Texas and drive economic prosperity through scientific breakthroughs, technological innovation, entrepreneurial spirit, improved health care, and the creation of successive generations of informed and engaged citizens; and

WHEREAS, Texas A&M and UT Austin researchers explore, discover, and innovate in the sciences, arts, and humanities and combined have been granted more than 2,800 patents; as Tier One research institutions, both universities provide students valuable opportunities for applied learning with guidance from outstanding faculty across the disciplines; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Both universities serve as important cultural 2 centers, engaging Texans in the visual and performing arts and 3 other creative endeavors, and they promote athletics and physical 4 education, inspiring Texans to stay active and bringing them 5 together in support of student-athletes; and

6 WHEREAS, The faculties feature Nobel laureates and 7 nationally recognized scholars, and those attending the schools 8 include National Merit scholars, Olympic gold medalists, and many 9 of the Lone Star State's most outstanding students; in addition, 10 the two universities offer an amazing range of postgraduate 11 opportunities with more than 450 graduate degree programs; and

WHEREAS, Texas A&M University and The University of Texas at Austin have established themselves as preeminent institutions of higher education on the state, national, and international levels, and Texans are fortunate to have access to these two exceptional state university systems; now, therefore, be it

17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 15, 2017, as Orange and 19 Maroon Legislative Day and commend alumni from Texas A&M University 20 and The University of Texas at Austin for their commitment to 21 supporting higher education in the Lone Star State.

> Raney Hinojosa Kacal Price Cyrier

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 425 was adopted by the House on February 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House