RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, On March 2, 2017, proud residents of Hunt County are 2 visiting Austin on the occasion of Hunt County Day at the State 3 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in the Blackland Prairie of northeastern Texas, Hunt County was first inhabited by the Kiowa; Anglo settlers arrived in 1839, and the county was officially formed from parts of Fannin and Nacogdoches Counties in 1846; with Greenville as its seat, the county was named after Memucan Hunt, secretary of the navy and minister to Washington under the Republic of Texas; and

WHEREAS, While the county's early economy depended mainly on 10 11 cotton, life changed dramatically after the Civil War; the arrival 12 of the railroad in the mid-1870s was a catalyst for 11 communities that sprang up around train depots, and by the early 20th century, 13 14 Hunt County was home to the first municipally owned public utilities in Texas and a number of industries centered around the 15 16 cotton trade, such as cotton-spinning mills, cotton compresses, and a cottonseed-oil refinery; and 17

18 WHEREAS, Hunt County has continued to grow; its diverse 19 economy now includes such industries as aircraft electronics and 20 plastics distribution, and eight Fortune 500 companies have offices 21 in Greenville; and

WHEREAS, The county is well served by two institutions of higher learning, Texas A&M University--Commerce and the Greenville Center of Paris Junior College, and it is further enriched by a

1

1 number of recreational and cultural attractions; picturesque Lake Tawakoni State Park is a destination for boating, swimming, 2 3 camping, and hiking, the Mathews Prairie Nature Preserve, a 100-acre tract of native prairie meadow that has never been plowed, 4 5 is ideal for birders and wildflower enthusiasts, and the Audie Murphy/American Cotton Museum commemorates the importance of 6 cotton to the region and celebrates the life of Hunt County native 7 8 Audie Murphy, film star and the most decorated American soldier of World War II; and 9

10 WHEREAS, The citizens of Hunt County take great pride in 11 their rich history as they work together to build an even brighter 12 future, and it is indeed fitting to honor them and their unique 13 contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, 14 be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas Legislature hereby recognize March 2, 2017, as Hunt County Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere best wishes for an enjoyable and memorable stay in Austin.

Flynn

2

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 427 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House