H.R. No. 429

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud citizens from Hill County are visiting Austin 2 on February 22, 2017, to celebrate Hill County Day at the State 3 Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Located in North Central Texas east of the Brazos 4 River, Hill County was created from a section of Navarro County by 5 an act of the state legislature on February 7, 1853; it was named 6 7 for Dr. George Washington Hill, a member of the Congress of the Republic of Texas and secretary of war and navy under President Sam 8 9 Houston; on May 14, 1853, an election was held in Lexington on Jack's Branch to determine the county's first public officials, and 10 11 later that same year, Hillsboro was platted and designated the 12 county seat; and

13 WHEREAS, Now home to about 35,000 people, Hill County has 14 grown with the changing times while still maintaining the appeal of a small rural county; the restored county courthouse in Hillsboro, 15 which is listed in the National Register of Historic Places, serves 16 as the center for county business, and Hill College provides access 17 to an array of high tech academic and workforce training 18 educational programs, presents a popular performing arts series, 19 20 and is the site of the Texas Heritage Museum with its extensive 21 collection of Audie Murphy artifacts and a comprehensive library and archive on the Civil War; and 22

23 WHEREAS, Of special interest to Texas music fans everywhere, 24 Hill County is the birthplace of legendary singer and songwriter

1

Willie Nelson, who was born in Abbott and graduated from high school
there; and

3 WHEREAS, Hill County communities host a number of special events each year, among them the Hill County Fair and the Cotton 4 5 Pickin' Fair in Hillsboro, Pioneer Days in Whitney, the Cinco de Mayo Celebration in Itasca, and Hubbard City Trade Days, and these 6 festivities showcase the county's hospitality, agricultural roots, 7 8 scenic beauty, and heritage; residents and visitors alike also enjoy the myriad recreational opportunities offered by Lake Whitney 9 10 State Park; and

11 WHEREAS, Even as they celebrate their rich history, the 12 hardworking citizens of Hill County are looking ahead to the 13 opportunities of the future, and they may take great pride in their 14 unique contributions to the story of the Lone Star State; now, 15 therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 17 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2017, as Hill County Day 18 at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 19 best wishes for a meaningful and memorable stay in Austin.

Cook

H.R. No. 429

2

H.R. No. 429

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

H.R. No. 429

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 429 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House