RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Westbury High School in Houston is holding a 2 groundbreaking ceremony on February 16, 2017, to commemorate the 3 start of construction on a new building addition; and

WHEREAS, This outstanding educational institution serves more than 2,100 students in 9th through 12th grade; under the able leadership of principal Susan Monaghan, the school offers a performing and visual arts magnet program as well as public safety career pathways, which combine rigorous academics with real-world experiences to prepare students for professions in that vital field; and

11 WHEREAS, Westbury is one of 40 schools in the Houston 12 Independent School District to undergo renovations as part of a voter-approved 2012 bond program; the addition will include a 13 14 central office area, two gyms, a weight room, a dining and kitchen area, a number of classrooms, and space for the campus Reserve 15 16 Officer Training Corps; once primary construction is complete, portable buildings will be removed so that tennis courts can be 17 18 erected in their place; and

WHEREAS, The education of young Texans is of great importance to the future of our state, and with these vital renovations to their campus, the faculty and staff of Westbury High School will be better equipped to help students reach their full potential and become engaged and productive members of the community; now, therefore, be it

1

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commemorate the Westbury High School 3 groundbreaking ceremony and extend to all those associated with the 4 institution sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

6 prepared for Westbury High School as an expression of high regard by 7 the Texas House of Representatives.

Thierry

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 430 was adopted by the House on February 14, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House