H.R. No. 440

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Members of Leadership Gainesville are visiting the
State Capitol on February 15, 2017, and this occasion provides a
fitting opportunity to honor this esteemed organization and the
town it represents; and
WHEREAS, Leadership Gainesville was established in 1989 to
seek out and train well-informed, civic-minded individuals who are

5 WHEREAS, Leadership Gainesville was established in 1989 to 6 seek out and train well-informed, civic-minded individuals who are 7 interested in holding voluntary positions of responsibility in the 8 community; sponsored by the Gainesville Area Chamber of Commerce, 9 which is now over 500 members strong, the group includes members 10 from a variety of backgrounds, as well as persons of different ages; 11 and

WHEREAS, Among this biennium class are four outstanding high school students, Gabby Brasher, Mary Gerken, Jenny Liu, and Alfredo Moreno; other distinguished members include Leslie Crutsinger, Jon Farr, Rebecca Fonte, Kelsey Hawkins, Jason James, Cabie Lamb, Phil Larson, Misty Links, Sunny Meeks, Kimzie Moss, Marvin Royal, Starla Terry, and Nathan Wood; and

Terry, and Nathan Wood; and

WHEREAS, Gainesville has earned a reputation for offering a
high quality of life in a small-town setting; designated as a Medal
of Honor Host City and named Most Patriotic Small Town in America by
USA Today and Rand McNally, the community is known for its historic
homes, the Morton Museum, the beautifully restored courthouse, and
the downtown business district; also recognized for its friendly,
welcoming residents, Gainesville has been dubbed "the Front Porch

H.R. No. 440

- 1 to Texas"; and
- 2 WHEREAS, Leadership Gainesville is promoting the spirit of
- 3 volunteerism and hometown pride that are defining characteristics
- 4 of Gainesville, and by fostering an informed and engaged citizenry,
- 5 the program is helping to build a brighter and more prosperous
- 6 future for the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 7 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 8 Legislature hereby welcome members of Leadership Gainesville to the
- 9 State Capitol and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued
- 10 success; and, be it further
- 11 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 12 prepared for the group as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 13 House of Representatives.

Springer

H.R. No. 440

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Murr Neave Nevárez	
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 440
	Speaker of the House
<u>-</u>	adopted by the House on February
15, 2017, by a non-record vote.	
	Chief Clerk of the House