RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Representatives of Baylor University are gathering
in Austin on February 22, 2017, for Baylor Day at the Capitol; and

3 WHEREAS, Baylor University was established February 1, 1845, 4 by an act of the Congress of the Republic of Texas; it is the oldest 5 continuously operating university in the state; and

6 WHEREAS, This private Christian university and nationally 7 ranked research institution provides a vibrant campus community for 8 approximately 17,000 students; it offers 142 undergraduate 9 degrees, 75 graduate degrees, 42 doctoral degrees, and a juris 10 doctor in addition to a wide array of preprofessional tracks and 11 specialized academic opportunities; and

WHEREAS, Baylor University's men's basketball team has become the number one team in the nation for the first time in the program's history, and its football team recently won the 2016 Cactus Bowl; moreover, the women's basketball team has continued to prove its dominance, and it is currently ranked number two in the country; and

WHEREAS, With a median grade point average of 3.27 across the entire athletic department during the fall 2016 semester, Baylor athletics extends its run to 17 consecutive semesters with a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher; additionally, 137 students were named to the Dean's List and 307 students were recognized on the Big 12 Commissioner's Honor Roll for the semester; and

24 WHEREAS, The school's outstanding academic and athletic

1

1 programs, combined with a faculty dedicated to teaching and 2 scholarship, have served to create an institution with an 3 international reputation for educational excellence, and it is 4 indeed a pleasure to join in recognizing Baylor University for its 5 myriad achievements; now, therefore, be it

6 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 7 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2017, as Baylor Day at 8 the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation sincere 9 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in Austin.

> Anderson of McLennan Kacal

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins Giddings

Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Коор Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr Neave Nevárez Oliveira

Goldman

Oliverson Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray Wu Zedler Zerwas

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 444 was adopted by the House on February 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House