## RESOLUTION

- WHEREAS, Representatives of the City of Plano, the Plano
  Chamber of Commerce, and the Plano Independent School District are
  visiting Austin on February 15 and 16, 2017, to take part in Plano
  Legislative Days at the State Capitol; and
  WHEREAS, Boasting a population of approximately 277,000,
  this self-styled City of Excellence has garnered multiple accolades
  in recent years for its prosperity and quality of life; in 2016,
  Plano was recognized as the third best place to live in America and
  the best place to live in Texas by Money magazine, while WalletHub
- Plano was recognized as the third best place to live in America and the best place to live in Texas by *Money* magazine, while WalletHub named it the number one city to find a job and the Milken Institute ranked it fifth on its 2016 list of Best Performing Cities: and
- 11 ranked it fifth on its 2016 list of Best Performing Cities; and 12 WHEREAS, Contributing greatly to the city's success is the 13 Plano Chamber of Commerce, which is committed to maximizing 14 business development and economic growth through advocacy, education, innovation, and collaboration; by promoting the city's 15 16 outstanding workforce, competitive business climate, world-class business parks, and accessibility, the chamber has helped to make 17 Plano home to many leading global corporations, including Fortune 18 1000 companies JCPenney, Dr Pepper Snapple Group, Alliance Data 19 Systems, Rent-A-Center, Cinemark Holdings, and Denbury Resources; 20 21 its efforts have earned the Plano Chamber a 5-star accreditation from the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, placing it among the top one 22
- 24 WHEREAS, The Plano Independent School District is likewise

percent of chambers of commerce in the nation; and

23

benefiting the city and area residents, with the 6,800 members of 1 its faculty and staff working to prepare the district's 55,000 2 3 students for the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead; the teachers of Plano ISD average more than 11 years of experience, and 4 5 more than a third of them hold master's degrees; with a graduation rate of more than 96 percent, Plano ISD students' scores on college 6 entrance exams continue to exceed those of their peers across the 7 8 country, and 121 of its young scholars were awarded semifinalist standing in the 2016 National Merit Scholarship Program; moreover, 9 10 the district is home to a number of state, national, and international science fair winners, and all of the district's 44 11 12 elementary schools are HealthierUS School Challenge: 13 Lunchrooms award winners; and

WHEREAS, A true Lone Star success story, Plano's reputation as a wonderful city in which to work, play, and raise a family grows every day, and the City of Plano, the Plano Chamber of Commerce, and the Plano Independent School District are helping to build an even brighter and more prosperous future for their thriving community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
Legislature hereby recognize February 15-16, 2017, as Plano
Legislative Days at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting
delegation sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable
stay in Austin.

Laubenberg Leach Shaheen Fallon

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega Alonzo González of El Paso Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Gutierrez Anderson of McLennan Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Bernal Holland Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Blanco Rinaldi Roberts Bohac Hunter Bonnen of Brazoria Rodriguez of Bexar Isaac Rodriguez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Johnson of Harris Rose Burns Kacal Sanford Burrows Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Schofield Cain Canales Schubert Capriglione Shaheen Clardy Klick Sheffield Coleman Koop Shine Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Landgraf Stephenson Cosper Craddick Lang Stickland Larson Cyrier Stucky Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Lozano Thompson of Harris Dean Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Villalba Elkins Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Moody Walle Farrar Morrison White Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Flynn Frank Workman Murphy Wray Frullo Murr Geren Neave Wu Nevárez Gervin-Hawkins Zedler Zerwas Giddings Oliveira

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 445 was a 16, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February

Chief Clerk of the House