## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Many dedicated members of the El Paso Independent
- 2 School District Council of PTAs are visiting Austin on February 27,
- 3 2017, to participate in Texas PTA Rally Day at the State Capitol;
- 4 and
- 5 WHEREAS, A nonprofit, all-volunteer organization, the El
- 6 Paso ISD Council of PTAs represents over 4,500 members of 35 PTAs
- 7 operating in EPISD schools; the group meets monthly to provide
- 8 support and administration to its local chapters in furtherance of
- 9 its mission of engaging and empowering families and communities to
- 10 advocate for all children; and
- 11 WHEREAS, Extensive research has firmly established that
- 12 greater parental engagement leads to better student outcomes;
- 13 through their involvement in the PTA, mothers and fathers can make a
- 14 positive impact on schools and ensure that the learning environment
- 15 allows each child to fulfill his or her highest potential; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Rally Day allows PTA members from across the state
- 17 to unite their efforts to improve public education for all young
- 18 Texans, and this occasion provides a fitting opportunity to honor
- 19 the El Paso Independent School District Council of PTAs for its
- 20 outstanding contributions; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby honor the El Paso Independent School District
- 23 Council of PTAs on the occasion of the 2017 Texas PTA Rally Day at
- 24 the State Capitol and extend to the members of the group sincere

H.R. No. 446

- 1 best wishes for an informative and enjoyable event; and, be it
- 2 further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the council as an expression of high regard by the
- 5 Texas House of Representatives.

Ortega

## H.R. No. 446

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 446
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 446 was 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House