H.R. No. 447

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Pillars of the Community Black History Award
 Program is being held at Nehemiah Youth Hall in Jasper on February
 18, 2017; and

WHEREAS, The awards ceremony was established by the Lucy Mae
Rawls Foundation in 2009 to recognize esteemed members of Jasper's
African American community; and

7 WHEREAS, With the theme "Making Your Own History," the 2017 8 Black History Award Program celebrates the contributions of 12 9 local civic and business leaders; the honorees are Deloris McGill, 10 Eurlene McBride, Charles Kyle, Bobby Kyle, Linda Johnson, Willie 11 King, J. P. Collins, Laura Bowis, Gene Fillway, Joyce Miller, 12 Harold Cauley, and Willie Kenebrew; and

13 WHEREAS, These outstanding Texans have made a positive 14 difference in the Jasper community and beyond, and they are indeed 15 deserving of this prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it

16 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas 17 Legislature hereby commemorate the Jasper Pillars of the Community 18 Black History Award Program and extend congratulations to all those 19 being recognized at the event.

Dutton

1

H.R. No. 447

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 447 was adopted by the House on February 15, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House