H.R. No. 449

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, A delegation from Willowridge High School in Houston
- 2 is visiting Austin on February 23, 2017, to celebrate Willowridge
- 3 High School Day at the State Capitol; and
- WHEREAS, Part of the Fort Bend Independent School District,
- 5 Willowridge High serves neighborhoods in Houston, Pearland, and
- 6 other areas in Fort Bend County; under the expert guidance of
- 7 principal Thomas Graham, the dedicated faculty and staff lead the
- 8 education of some 1,300 students in 9th through 12th grade; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The school is known for its extracurricular
- 10 programs, in particular its Mighty Eagle Marching Band, which has
- 11 developed a reputation for excellence from its first place wins in
- 12 the MLK and All-American Battles of the Bands; led by directors
- 13 Ronald Thornton, Delcenia Hill, and Robert Jackson, the band has
- 14 performed at the Rose Bowl and Orange Bowl and participated in the
- 15 Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade; moreover, the school's basketball
- 16 program is outstanding, and in 2001, it achieved the rare feat of
- 17 having two of its players, Daniel Ewing and T. J. Ford, named to the
- 18 McDonald's All-American Team; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Committed to effectively addressing student needs,
- 20 Willowridge High School is helping area youth to succeed
- 21 academically and to realize their full potential, and in so doing,
- 22 it is building a solid foundation for the future; now, therefore, be
- 23 it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 449

- 1 Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2017, as Willowridge High
- 2 School Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those in
- 3 attendance sincere best wishes for a meaningful, memorable visit;
- 4 and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the school as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Reynolds

H.R. No. 449

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Bell Hinojosa Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriquez of Travis Bonnen of Galveston Israel Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Davis of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. NO. 449
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 449 was a 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House