By: Johnson of Dallas

H.R. No. 452

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The celebration of Black History Month in February

2 2017 provides a welcome opportunity to recognize the rich cultural

3 heritage of African Americans and the significant contributions

4 they have made and are making to the Lone Star State and to the world

5 at large; and

6 WHEREAS, A weeklong observance focusing on black history was

7 established in 1926 by Dr. Carter G. Woodson, the Harvard-trained

8 historian and son of former slaves who founded the Association for

9 the Study of Negro Life and History; the first Negro History Week,

10 held in the week that encompassed both Abraham Lincoln and

11 Frederick Douglass's birthdays, was met with a warm reception

12 throughout the country, and February was officially recognized as

13 Black History Month by the U.S. government in 1976 and by the State

14 of Texas in 1983; and

WHEREAS, The Lone Star State has greatly benefited from the

16 leadership and vision of numerous African American lawmakers,

17 beginning with those elected during the Reconstruction Era after

18 African American men were granted the right to vote with the

19 ratification of the 15th Amendment; though discriminatory voting

20 laws restricted the opportunity for representation in the Texas

21 Legislature between 1899 and 1967, the passage of the Voting Rights

22 Act of 1965 helped return African Americans to legislative offices;

23 and

24 WHEREAS, The list of African Americans who have served in the

H.R. No. 452

1 Texas Legislature includes David Abner Sr., Alma Allen, Richard Allen, Edward Anderson, Alexander Asberry, Houston A. P. Bassett, 2 3 Thomas Beck, Eddie Bernice Johnson, Fred Blair, Edward Brown, D. W. Burley, Walter Moses Burton, Stefani Carter, Reby Cary, Lanell 4 Cofer, Garnet Coleman, Nicole Collier, Giles Cotton, Yvonne Davis, 5 Wilhelmina Delco, Joe Deshotel, Dawnna Dukes, J. Goldsteen Dupree, 6 Harold V. Dutton Jr., Leonard Edward Briscoe, Al Edwards, Rodney 7 8 Ellis, Larry Q. Evans, Robert J. Evans, Jacob E. Freeman, Matthew Gaines, Harriel G. Geiger, Barbara Gervin-Hawkins, Helen Giddings, 9 10 Ron D. Givens, Curtis M. Graves, Bedford A. Guy, Anthony Hall, Nathan H. Haller, Jeremiah J. Hamilton, Terri Hodge, William H. 11 12 Holland, Zan W. Holmes Jr., Samuel Hudson III, Eric Johnson, Jarvis Johnson, Jesse Jones, Karyne Jones Conley, Ruth Jones McClendon, 13 14 Barbara Jordan, Mitchell Kendall, Robert A. Kerr, Alex F. Kinneson, 15 Jerald H. Larry, El Franco Lee, George "Mickey" Leland, Doc C. Lewis, Glen Lewis, Joseph E. Lockridge, Barbara Mallory Caraway, 16 17 Elias Mayes, David Medlock, Borris Miles, John Mitchell, Henry Moore, Robert J. Moore, Sheppard Mullens, Jesse Oliver, Edward 18 19 Patton, Henry Phelps, Albert Price, Paul Ragsdale, Ron Reynolds, Walter E. Ripton, Meshack R. Roberts, Toni Rose, George T. Ruby, 20 Alonzo Sledge, Robert Lloyd Smith, Clay Smothers, Henry Sneed, 21 James H. Stewart, Garlington Jerome "G. J." Sutton, Lou Nelle 22 23 Shawn Thierry, Garfield Thompson, Laura 24 Senfronia Thompson, Scott Turner, Sylvester Turner, Marc Veasey, Craig A. Washington, James H. Washington, Bobby Webber, Royce West, 25 26 James White, Allen W. Wilder, Benjamin Franklin Williams, Richard Williams, Ron Wilson, and George W. Wyatt; and 27

H.R. No. 452

WHEREAS, The celebration of Black History Month highlights
the myriad ways in which African Americans have helped shape this
nation over the course of four centuries; it also serves as a
reminder that the immeasurable benefits of living in a truly
diverse society, with equal treatment for all, should motivate our
words and our actions every month of every year; now, therefore, be
it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th 9 Legislature hereby commemorate February 2017 as Black History Month 10 and encourage all citizens to learn more about the history and 11 accomplishments of African Americans.