H.R. No. 453

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Mendoza Debate Society of Lee College has added
- 2 to its impressive record of success by winning the International
- 3 Public Debate Association National Community College Debate
- 4 Championship for the third year in a row; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The top-ranked debate program in Texas for the
- 6 2015-2016 IPDA season, the Mendoza Debate Society delivered the
- 7 highest-scoring performance in the 19-year history of the
- 8 championship, capping a season that brought the team more than 150
- 9 awards; the debaters were also named Season Long Community College
- 10 Champions, and Joe Ganakos, Lee College director of forensics, was
- 11 recognized as 2016 IPDA Bennett Strange Coach of the Year; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Led by captains Kyle Diamond and Rigo Ruiz, the
- 13 debate society earned an all-time record for points in the Team
- 14 Division National Championship, while members Emmanuel Perez and
- 15 Josh Lyrock placed third; Jerry McCauley was named 2015-2016 IPDA
- 16 Junior Varsity National Champion, while Mr. Diamond was the Varsity
- 17 Division National Runner-Up and National Championship Tournament
- 18 Varsity Finalist; and
- 19 WHEREAS, These gifted young debaters have exhibited
- 20 remarkable skill, drive, and determination, and they have earned
- 21 great distinction for themselves, their school, and the State of
- 22 Texas; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate the Mendoza Debate Society of Lee

H.R. No. 453

- 1 College on winning the 2016 IPDA National Community College Debate
- 2 Championship and extend to the team's members sincere best wishes
- 3 for continued success; and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for the Mendoza Debate Society as an expression of high
- 6 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Cain

тт	D	NT o	152
н	R	NΩ	45 X

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 453 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House