H.R. No. 454

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Citizens from Howard County are gathering in Austin
- 2 to celebrate Howard County Day at the State Capitol on February 23,
- 3 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Towns in Howard County, including Big Spring, the
- 5 county seat, Coahoma, and Forsan, share a rich history, and today,
- 6 the area is experiencing new and continuing development as
- 7 residents look ahead to the opportunities of the future; and
- 8 WHEREAS, Howard County has excelled at diversification, and
- 9 it is a center for the petroleum and energy industry, education,
- 10 health care, farming and ranching, transportation, manufacturing,
- 11 and other active trades; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Visitors and residents alike enjoy fine
- 13 opportunities for recreation at Big Spring State Park, Moss Lake,
- 14 and Comanche Trail Park; the region's colorful past is celebrated
- 15 at the Heritage Museum and the Hangar 25 Air Museum, and continuing
- 16 development in Big Spring's downtown historic district has also
- 17 brought revitalization to the county as a whole; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Deeply devoted to their communities and to the land
- 19 that has shaped them, the people of Howard County may take
- 20 justifiable pride in their efforts to cultivate a rich and vital
- 21 quality of life, knowing that the robust spirit of earlier
- 22 generations is alive and well in their own; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby recognize February 23, 2017, as Howard County

H.R. No. 454

- 1 Day at the State Capitol and extend to the visiting delegation
- 2 sincere best wishes for an informative and enjoyable stay in
- 3 Austin.

Darby

H.R. No. 454

Straus Allen Alonzo Alvarado Anchia Anderson of Dallas Anderson of McLennan Arévalo Ashby Bailes Bell Bernal Biedermann Blanco Bohac Bonnen of Brazoria Bonnen of Galveston Burkett Burns Burrows Button Cain Canales Capriglione Clardy Coleman Collier Cook Cortez Cosper Craddick Cyrier Dale Darby Davis of Dallas Davis of Harris Dean Deshotel Dukes Dutton Elkins Faircloth Fallon Farrar Flynn Frank Frullo	Goldman Gonzales of Williamson González of El Paso Gooden Guerra Guillen Gutierrez Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Huberty Hunter Isaac Israel Johnson of Dallas Johnson of Harris Kacal Keough King of Hemphill King of Parker King of Uvalde Klick Koop Krause Kuempel Lambert Landgraf Lang Larson Laubenberg Leach Longoria Lozano Lucio III Martinez Metcalf Meyer Miller Minjarez Moody Morrison Muñoz, Jr. Murphy Murr	Paddie Parker Paul Perez Phelan Phillips Pickett Price Raney Raymond Reynolds Rinaldi Roberts Rodriguez of Bexar Rodriguez of Travis Romero, Jr. Rose Sanford Schaefer Schofield Schubert Shaheen Sheffield Shine Simmons Smithee Springer Stephenson Stickland Stucky Swanson Thierry Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Turner Uresti VanDeaver Villalba Vo Walle White Wilson Workman Wray
Frullo Geren Gervin-Hawkins	Murr Neave Nevárez	
Giddings	Oliveira	Zerwas

	H.R. No. 454
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 454 was 23, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House