## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Distinguished citizens of Irving are gathering on

1

Verizon; and

24

2 February 22, 2017, to celebrate Irving Day at the State Capitol; and 3 WHEREAS, The Irving-Las Colinas Chamber of Commerce is the first Five Star Chamber of Commerce in Texas and actively 4 5 represents the interests of the largest business park in North Texas; and 6 WHEREAS, Irving began its period of rapid growth in the 7 mid-20th century; the Plymouth Park Shopping Center opened in 1955, 8 the University of Dallas in 1956, and Irving Community Hospital in 9 1964; the creation of DFW International Airport and the creation of 10 11 and Valley Ranch master-planned 12 residential communities contributed further to the city's growth, and for more than four decades, the city has been home to the Big 12, 13 14 Conference USA, and the National Football Foundation; and WHEREAS, Today, with the first Five Star Chamber of Commerce 15 16 in Texas and a population of approximately 225,000, Irving is home to more than 8,500 companies, including the Fortune 500 global 17 headquarters of ExxonMobil, Kimberly-Clark, Commercial Metals, 18 Celanese Corporation, and the Fluor Corporation, and the Fortune 19 20 1000 global headquarters for the Michaels Company, Pioneer Natural 21 Resources, Flowserve Corporation, and Darling Ingredients; other major employers include such companies as AT&T, ACE Cash Express, 22 23 Aviall, Citi, HMS, Kroger Stores, Microsoft, TXU Energy, and

H.R. No. 455

- 1 WHEREAS, Irving's educational resources make it a fine place
- 2 to live and work; the University of Dallas, North Lake College, and
- 3 eight other institutions of higher education offer opportunities
- 4 for study and personal growth; and
- 5 WHEREAS, The Irving Arts Center, three symphony orchestras,
- 6 and two award-winning theater companies, as well as the gondolas at
- 7 the Mandalay Canal, the museum and sculpture of the Mustangs of Las
- 8 Colinas, and the AT&T Byron Nelson Golf Championship all provide
- 9 entertainment for residents and visitors alike; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Benefiting greatly from the farsighted leadership
- 11 of Mayor Beth Van Duyne, City Manager Chris Hillman, and city
- 12 council members John Danish, Allan Meagher, Dennis Webb, Phil
- 13 Riddle, Oscar Ward, Brad LaMorgese, Kyle Taylor, and David Palmer,
- 14 Irving is a forward-looking and vibrant city, and its creative and
- 15 hardworking citizens are to be commended for their contributions to
- 16 the prosperity of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 17 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 18 Legislature hereby recognize February 22, 2017, as Irving Day at
- 19 the State Capitol and extend to its mayor, city council members,
- 20 city manager, corporate executives, chamber representatives, and
- 21 other citizens present today a warm welcome to Austin.

Anderson of Dallas

## H.R. No. 455

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Wilson Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 455
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 455 was 22, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House