RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Rosie Gonzalez Collin is being honored with a Y
- 2 Women in Careers Award by the YWCA in Corpus Christi on March 1,
- 3 2017; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The Corpus Christi YWCA has been recognizing
- 5 accomplished women in the community through this awards program
- 6 since 1979; those chosen for the distinction have achieved a
- 7 notable degree of success in their respective fields, and as women
- 8 who demonstrate integrity, a willingness to take on new challenges,
- 9 and a commitment to excellence, they serve as outstanding role
- 10 models for young girls, whose empowerment is a crucial part of the
- 11 YWCA mission; and
- WHEREAS, Following a successful 29-year career as a teacher
- 13 in Kingsville and Corpus Christi, Rosie Gonzalez Collin went on to
- 14 build strong professional relationships in her community through
- 15 her work for the Ingleside Local Redevelopment Authority and the
- 16 Corpus Christi Hispanic Chamber of Commerce; she is now director of
- 17 community relations for Port Corpus Christi, where she coordinates
- 18 the efforts of 120 nonprofit groups to create projects that will
- 19 benefit the Coastal Bend region; and
- WHEREAS, Through the skill and determination she brings to
- 21 all her efforts, Rosie Gonzalez Collin has earned the esteem of her
- 22 peers and made contributions to her community that will resonate
- 23 far into the future; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

H.R. No. 462

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Rosie Gonzalez Collin on receiving
- 2 a 2017 Y Women in Careers Award from the YWCA of Corpus Christi and
- 3 extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Collin as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Herrero

TT	_	7. T	462
Н	ν	$N \cap$	7167

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 462 was adopted by the House on March 2, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House