H.R. No. 466

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Students, faculty, and members of the
- 2 administration of Prairie View A&M University are visiting the
- 3 State Capitol on February 27, 2017; and
- WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University dates back to 1876,
- 5 during the Reconstruction Era, when the 15th Texas Legislature
- 6 established a school known as the "Alta Vista Agricultural and
- 7 Mechanical College of Texas for Colored Youth"; the first students
- 8 enrolled in 1878, and a normal school for training teachers, the
- 9 state's first coeducational public institution of higher learning,
- 10 was created by the legislature the following year; the normal
- 11 school and the agricultural and mechanical college were combined by
- 12 the 20th Legislature in 1887; and
- WHEREAS, The institution expanded its curriculum to four
- 14 years in 1901 and began offering intercollegiate athletics three
- 15 years later; a cooperative agricultural extension program was added
- 16 in 1914, and establishment of the Army Reserve Officer Training
- 17 Corps followed in 1917; during the 1920s, the school introduced the
- 18 first baccalaureate degrees and a school of nursing, took part in
- 19 the organization of the Southwest Athletic Conference, and
- 20 initiated the Prairie View Interscholastic League for African
- 21 American high schools, which later merged with the University
- 22 Interscholastic League; and
- 23 WHEREAS, In 1937, a graduate school was established at
- 24 Prairie View; the school began a program for commissioning U.S.

H.R. No. 466

- 1 Army officers in 1943 and naval reserve officers in 1968; five
- 2 commissioned officers from the school's army training corps have
- 3 gone on to become three-star generals, and three officers from its
- 4 navy training corps have become admirals; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Voters approved a state constitutional amendment in
- 6 1984 that recognized Prairie View A&M as a university of the first
- 7 class and restructured the state's Permanent University Fund to
- 8 include Prairie View as a beneficiary; in addition, the legislature
- 9 established the Texas Institute for the Preservation of History and
- 10 Culture at Prairie View in 1999; the school launched its first
- 11 doctoral program, in juvenile justice, in 2001 and has since added
- 12 others in electrical engineering, juvenile forensic psychology,
- 13 and education leadership; and
- 14 WHEREAS, With the administration now led by president
- 15 Dr. George C. Wright, the university has an enrollment of over
- 16 8,700 students, including more than 1,300 graduate students; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M is a notable institution with a
- 18 long and fascinating history, and this occasion provides a fitting
- 19 opportunity to recognize it and pay tribute to its continuing
- 20 achievements; now, therefore, be it
- 21 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas
- 22 Legislature hereby recognize February 27, 2017, as Prairie View A&M
- 23 University Day at the State Capitol and extend to all those
- 24 associated with the university sincere best wishes for the future.

Bell

## H.R. No. 466

Straus Goldman Oliverson Allen Gonzales of Williamson Ortega González of El Paso Alonzo Paddie Alvarado Gooden Parker Anchia Guerra Paul Anderson of Dallas Guillen Perez Anderson of McLennan Gutierrez Phelan Arévalo Hefner Phillips Ashby Hernandez Pickett Bailes Herrero Price Hinojosa Bell Raney Holland Bernal Raymond Biedermann Howard Reynolds Huberty Rinaldi Blanco Bohac Hunter Roberts Bonnen of Brazoria Isaac Rodriguez of Bexar Bonnen of Galveston Israel Rodriguez of Travis Johnson of Dallas Burkett Romero, Jr. Burns Johnson of Harris Rose Burrows Kacal Sanford Button Keough Schaefer King of Hemphill Schofield Cain Canales King of Parker Schubert Capriglione King of Uvalde Shaheen Sheffield Clardy Klick Коор Shine Coleman Collier Krause Simmons Cook Kuempel Smithee Cortez Lambert Springer Cosper Landgraf Stephenson Craddick Stickland Lang Larson Stucky Cyrier Dale Laubenberg Swanson Darby Thierry Leach Davis of Dallas Longoria Thompson of Brazoria Davis of Harris Thompson of Harris Lozano Lucio III Tinderholt Deshotel Martinez Turner Dukes Metcalf Uresti Dutton Meyer VanDeaver Miller Elkins Villalba Faircloth Minjarez Vo Fallon Walle Moody Farrar Morrison White Flynn Muñoz, Jr. Wilson Frank Murphy Workman Frullo Murr Wray Geren Neave Wıı Zedler Gervin-Hawkins Nevárez

Zerwas

Oliveira

Giddings

	H.R. No. 466
	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 466 was 27, 2017, by a non-record vote.	adopted by the House on February
	Chief Clerk of the House