H.R. No. 470

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Judge Ann-Marie Carruth is being recognized with the
Government Award by the YWCA of Lubbock at its annual Women of
Excellence Awards Ceremony on March 9, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Created in 1989, the Women of Excellence Awards honor individuals for their contributions as leaders and volunteers, highlighting the vital roles that women play in civic and professional endeavors in the Lubbock area; and

WHEREAS, Judge Carruth was elected justice of the peace for 8 Lubbock County Precinct 4 in 2014; a magna cum laude graduate of 9 Texas Tech University, she earned her doctor of jurisprudence 10 11 degree from the Texas Tech School of Law in 2006 and subsequently 12 fulfilled a lifelong dream of practicing law with her father through the establishment of Saleh Law, PLLC; in addition to her 13 14 work as an attorney and judge, she has generously donated her time to support a number of community events, including fund-raisers 15 16 organized by the Muscular Dystrophy Association, Susan G. Komen, 17 and the YWCA, and she has supported Meals on Wheels by performing pro bono legal work and serving on the group's board of directors; 18 19 and

20 WHEREAS, With her receipt of a Women of Excellence Award, 21 Judge Ann-Marie Carruth joins an elite group of women who have been 22 honored by the YWCA of Lubbock, and she is indeed a worthy role 23 model for this and future generations; now, therefore, be it

24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 85th Texas

1

## H.R. No. 470

Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Ann-Marie Carruth on
her receipt of a 2017 Women of Excellence Award from the YWCA of
Lubbock and extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success
and happiness; and, be it further

5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 6 prepared for Judge Carruth as an expression of high regard by the 7 Texas House of Representatives.

Frullo

H.R. No. 470

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 470 was adopted by the House on February 20, 2017, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House